GDPR - potential uses?

Submitted by R Totale on May 22, 2018

So, apart from getting everyone's inboxes filled up with emails from every company you've ever given your details to, are there any potential uses to the new GDPR regulation? Like, obviously there's massive limits to how far legal rights mean in practice, especially ones that you can be leaned on to sign away (hello, working time regulations!), but I know that data protection laws have in the past been something of a stumbling block for the DWP - see for instance this or this.
I'm not an expert on data, the law, or data protection law, but if the new rules mean that protection about this stuff is being toughened up, does that give any potential advantages to, say, claimants wanting to minimise Jobcentre snooping? Or any other areas - I know a lot of the hostile environment, or "lovely fluffy environment that just happens to massively inconvenience migrants" or however they've rebranded it, is based around getting people to collect and share data, does the changes in the law have any potential impacts on resistance in those fields? Or is the whole thing pretty much irrelevant cos of laws being cobwebs for the rich and powerful anyway?

Steven.

5 years 11 months ago

In reply to by libcom.org

Submitted by Steven. on May 22, 2018

Basically, no I don't think it will. Government organisations can still store information they need to perform their duties.

If anything, I was thinking that it might have the opposite effect, in that a number of government organisations are stepping up destruction of documents after 7 years. Which won't hamper their work at all, but which would hamper things like individuals' attempts to take legal action over things like sexual abuse or neglect of children in care and things like that – which people may not be able to complain about until after they are adults many years later.

dark_ether

5 years 10 months ago

Submitted by dark_ether on June 15, 2018