How do people get governments to do things?

Submitted by Konsequent on June 15, 2019

I feel like I have a fairly good idea, from my own experience, and from talking to comrades, and from having done some reading, about how employees get bosses to do things. I’m familiar with quite a wide variety of tactics and am around people who are always coming up with more. But I don’t know how people get governments to do things, effectively I mean. Similarly to how the boss will say “Come talk to me individually if you have a problem”, politicians will claim that the way to get things done is write to them, see them at their surgeries, and vote for them so they’ll represent you. But that’s not really it is it? At least, I don’t get the impression it’s effective. Has it ever been? As getting governments to do things seems to be a lot rarer, I don’t have piles of success stories to refer to.

I’m asking because I work in the sex industry and I’ve not considered focusing on anything but workplace organising as a way of improving my work, but I know decriminalisation would improve things. I think when occasionally it’s safe for an organising campaign to go public it would probably have a positive effect on public consciousness too, and people might be more likely to think of sex workers as fellow workers, and to the extent that public consciousness has any effect on the legal system that would make decriminalisation more likely, but that’s not a strategy for it, that’s a possible by product of doing something for more immediate effect.

Anyone know enough history to tell me what tactics are used to get demands on the government/the law met?

The suffragettes got the vote, but not by voting. Not just by throwing themselves in front of horses either though right?