industrial action law in the UK, myth and reality

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
posi
Mar 20 2008 17:47
industrial action law in the UK, myth and reality

Perhaps I shouldn't call this 'myth and reality' given that I'm not a legal expert, and the following is just the result of conversations with a few people and reading round on the internet. Anyway, the results were surprising to me (or in the case of the first, may be to others), so I thought I'd share them, and anyone who wants to point out where I'm wrong can do that.

MYTH: you can't strike without 'recognition'. (As heard from a prominent and long side-burned wob in the pub the other night wink.)

REALITY. You can. That's not one of the conditions for statutory immunity:

Quote:
- There is a trade dispute, and the action is called in contemplation or furtherance of that dispute.
- A trade union which calls for, or otherwise organises, the action has first held a properly conducted secret ballot.
- A trade union which calls for, or otherwise organises, the action has provided the required notice of official industrial action to employers likely to be affected, following the ballot.
- The action is not "secondary action" (unless the act is a call for such industrial action made in the course of peaceful picketing at a picket's own place of work as the law allows).
- The action is not intended to promote union closed shop practices, or to prevent employers using non-union firms as suppliers.
- The action is not in support of any employee dismissed while taking unofficial industrial action.
- The action does not involve unlawful picketing.

MYTH. No secondary action is lawful

REALITY. See bold above.

MYTH. Non union members have no protection against dismissal for industrial action.

REALITY. At first glance it doesn't look good:

Quote: