Part-timers Unions?

Submitted by Spiderrs__ on June 8, 2016

Hello comrades. I am a Palestinian refugee in Lebanon (middle east lol) and I was wondering if any of you have any experience in organizing part time workers? Given that 18% percent of the working class in here are basically part-timers and half of them are foreign workers/refugees. We as, part-timers, and as refugees are deprives of our basic rights. We don't have annual/sickness/maternity leave, no health insurance, extremely underpaid (the minimum wage is 600$ and most workers get 400-450$), bosses breathing down our necks threatening to replace us. The left is dead here. So, how do we organize ourselves in such conditions? & I'd love to learn more about different experiences regarding unionizing part-timers

Steven.

7 years 9 months ago

In reply to by libcom.org

Submitted by Steven. on June 8, 2016

Hello and welcome! I have some experience organising part-timers, however in very different circumstances to you. My experience is primarily with low paid private sector employers who run public services like cleaners and catering workers, and part-time public sector workers like play workers, etc.

In the UK discrimination against part-time workers is against the law (and has been for some years now), so part-time workers have to be treated the same as people who are full-time.

Although we do have zero hour contract and casual workers who have very few rights.

It definitely has challenges, because it's very hard just to get people to meet, as people all work at different times. Also means organisers may never see many of their colleagues, as they work different shifts.

So in some cases our successful organising efforts have primarily been due to people like me working in stable, full-time jobs, with union facility time going round workplaces and trying to recruit people.