the need to rise against trade unions

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
meerov21
Aug 19 2013 20:03
the need to rise against trade unions

In today's world, a workers' uprising that goes beyond trade unions may become a cause for a grass-roots social-revolutionary movement based on self-organization. For those trying to bury the working class it is worth recalling some recent events: an armed uprising of miners in Asturias (Spain), a workers' uprising in South Africa (even a workers' council – a central strike committee – was set up, bringing together the strike committees of various mines). But all of these revolts were killed by trade unions. The same thing happened to the rather militant strikes in Greece and France in the past decade. Strikes in South Korea more than once or twice grew into factory seizures and armed conflicts with the police, but each time the movement was stopped by union officials who were looking for compromise and usurped the negotiations with the authorities and the owners.

Integrated into the systems of capital and state, accustomed to legal and comfortable existence, the union bureaucracy will never allow a labor movement to transform into a revolutionary one. Unearned income gained by means of workers, negotiations and collective agreements with business, lawsuits and litigation are the foundation stones of union bureaucracy. No one has ever voluntarily given away power and privilege.