WCH6: The Industrial Workers of the World in the US, 1905-1918

IWW strikers in Paterson

Podcast episode about the early history of the Industrial Workers of the World union in the United States, 1905-1918. In conversation with Peter Cole, coeditor of the new book Wobblies of the World: a Global History of the IWW.


Support this podcast and get early access to episodes, bonus audio and other benefits here: https://patreon.com/workingclasshistory

This is our playlist of early IWW music: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL71HxBMvC6bxcbE373VUIFoIkZqqRVM79
You can buy the book here: Wobblies of the World: A Global History of the IWW (Wildcat)
This is a very short history of the union: https://libcom.org/history/articles/iww-usa
And this is a great collection of oral histories of the IWW: https://libcom.org/history/solidarity-forever-oral-history-iww-stewart-bird-dan-georgakas-deborah-shaffer
Peter's book Wobblies on the Waterfront about the Philadelphia dockers you can buy here: Wobblies on the Waterfront: Interracial Unionism in Progressive-Era Philadelphia (Working Class in American History)

FOOTNOTES

– Big Bill Haywood – here is a selection of articles by our about him: https://libcom.org/tags/bill-haywood
– Syndicalism – this is a short introduction to syndicalism: https://libcom.org/library/syndicalism-introduction
– Anarchism – this is a short introduction to anarchism: https://libcom.org/thought/anarchist-communism-an-introduction
– Lucy Parsons – this is a short biography: https://libcom.org/history/articles/1853-lucy-parsons
– Eugene Debs – this is a short biography: https://www.iww.org/history/biography/EugeneDebs/1
– Mother Jones – this is her autobiography: https://libcom.org/library/autobiography-mother-jones
– Philadelphia Local 8: more info in Peter's book linked to above, and here: https://libcom.org/library/100-years-ago-philadelphia-dockers-strike-local-8-iww-mouvement-communiste-kolektivně-pr
– Ben Fletcher – short biography: https://libcom.org/history/articles/1890-19-ben-fletcher
– Bread and roses strike – this is a short history: https://libcom.org/history/1912-the-lawrence-textile-strike
– Denver domestic workers – more info here: https://libcom.org/history/letter-iww-domestic-workers-union-1917-jane-street
– John Dos Passos – short biography: https://libcom.org/history/john-dos-passos
– Accounts of a few IWW free speech fights. Spokane: Https://libcom.org/history/1908-10-spokane-free-speech-fight – Missoula: https://libcom.org/history/1909-missoula-free-speech-fight – San Diego: https://libcom.org/history/1912-san-diego-free-spech-fight
– Upton Sinclair – here are some of his works: https://libcom.org/tags/upton-sinclair-0
– Anarcho-Syndicalism – this is a short introduction: https://libcom.org/thought/anarcho-syndicalism-an-introduction
– General strike – classic IWW text on the general strike: https://libcom.org/library/general-strike-ralph-chaplin
– Joe Hill – an account of his execution: https://libcom.org/history/1915-the-murder-of-joe-hill
– Little red songbook – online here: https://libcom.org/library/little-red-song-book
– Ralph Chaplin – archive of his texts here: https://libcom.org/tags/ralph-chaplin
– Utah Phillips – obituary here: https://www.iww.org/history/biography/UtahPhillips/1
– This is a database of hundreds of incidents of repression against the IWW up to 1920: https://libcom.org/history/database-repression-iww-1906-1920
– Frank Little – article about his murder here: https://libcom.org/library/man-was-hung
– Centralia massacre – article about the murder of IWW member Wesley Everest: https://libcom.org/history/1919-the-murder-of-wesley-everest
– Everett massacre – short account here: https://libcom.org/history/everett-massacre-1916-walt-crowley
– Greenville IWW battle against the KKK: https://libcom.org/history/1924-kkk-iww-wage-drawn-battle-greenville
– Knights of Labor: this is a short history – https://libcom.org/history/knights-labor-1869-1885-louis-adamic

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

IWW music used in the episode under Fair Use includes:
– Solidarity forever – Pete Seeger – buy it online here: https://amzn.to/2x63dYE
– There is power in a union – Joe Glazer and Bill Friedland – buy it online here: https://amzn.to/2IGaQKS
– The preacher and the slave – Utah Phillips – buy it online here: https://amzn.to/2J421dc
Edited by Tyler Hill of the Gods & Ghosts podcast: https://tylerkenthill.podbean.com/

Comments

Juan Conatz
May 23 2018 17:30

Pretty sure I'm still paying dues to libcom, but just started chipping in to WCH through Patreon. Looking forward to seeing this show develop and the topics you guys end up focusing on.

Working Class H...
May 23 2018 21:02

Bump, because this is now available for everyone

Juan Conatz wrote:
Pretty sure I'm still paying dues to libcom, but just started chipping in to WCH through Patreon. Looking forward to seeing this show develop and the topics you guys end up focusing on.

thanks JC, it is much appreciated! Yeah we do have some good interviews lined up, and some episodes we are excited to get out into the world. Any support we get on patreon just helps us dedicate more time to the podcast and making it more enjoyable and better quality. If we get a few more patrons we will be able to properly compensate our editor for all the time they have been spending on it, which so far they have been doing for free but which is unfortunately unsustainable, so any support is appreciated