Aims & Principles

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ernest Everhard
Mar 22 2008 13:14
Aims & Principles

Greetings Comrades,

I am new to Libcom so I hope you dont mind me asking a few questions abour the Anarchist Communist Federation. [An organisation I was once linked with a number of years ago].

Is the ACF what is commonly termed a "platformist" group. Your aims and principles don't make this clear. I thought that the organization wasn't. But you sell what I understand to be platformist literature like the Manifesto of Libertarian Communism and Role of the Revolutionary Organisation. I would be grateful if you could clarify this for me.

I was also under the impression that one of the key organisational tenets of anarchist -communism was the establishment of workers councils - but I note this is omitted from the aims and principles?

I look forward to hearing from you

Your fraternally

Ernest

knightrose
Mar 22 2008 14:42

No we are not platformist. Some members are influenced by platformism, some call themselves platformist, most wouldn't call themselves either.

And yes, a key element is the establishment of workers councils. They are referred to in other pieces of our literature.,

madashell's picture
madashell
Mar 22 2008 15:23

Role of the Revolutionary Organisation is not platformist, it merely asserts the need for a revolutionary organisation, something platformists do not have a monopoly on and never have.

David UK
Mar 25 2008 11:16

The AFs line is that it adopts from platformism, but is critical of it in other ways.

little_brother's picture
little_brother
Mar 27 2008 16:50

It's also worth noting that Role of the Revolutionary Organisation is written by us, whereas the Manifesto of Libertarian Communism is by George Fontenis (1953) but published by us - we recognise that it is flawed and say so here: http://www.afed.org.uk/ace/