Tell me more

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Soph173
May 24 2011 08:56
Tell me more

Hi there,

My name's Sophie and I'm a journalism student at the Univeristy of Sheffield.

I'm currently putting a piece together about Anarchism in the UK and it'd be great to get some info and views from some of you.

I was at the tuition fees protest in London in November, and with this and the one in March I found the word anarchy being thrown around a lot. There was a lot of talk that the protest had been 'hijacked' by anarchists and I wasn't convinced really by this assumption and have become more and more interested in anarchy.

I felt that most people, including myself, had stereotyped views of anarchists so my piece is really just looking into anarchism and finding out more. I've not got any 'outsider' views, the piece is just about anarchy from the view of anarchists.

It's just for my coursework so there is no possibility of it being published in any media outlets that you may oppose.

I'd really appreciate it if any of you could share your views and beliefs. The information I'm most short on is how an anarchist society would work, the ideas people have.

My email address is smorgan5@hotmail.co.uk, it'd be great to hear from you.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Harrison
May 24 2011 09:21

hi sophie, you can take a look at the introductions which basically state what people on here broadly agree on
http://libcom.org/library/class-class-struggle-introduction
http://libcom.org/library/basic-principles-revolutionary-organisation

this is also really good,
http://libcom.org/library/introduction-anarchist-communism-anarchist-federation
although it reflects the view of only one anarchist organisation

i think libcom also represents a particular part of the anarchist movement, it also has a lot of anti-authoritarian marxists on it, so we use a broader name ('libertarian communism') to encompass them.