adviec

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
vicent
Jul 14 2013 00:25
adviec

hello all

i am currently studying environmental studies in my second year, but have become increasingly disillusioned with what they are teaching (green capitalism, population crisis blah blah blah) . i am now thinking of changing to a history course and hopefully study and bring to the light the more obscure parts of anarchist related history (makhno etc)

is this a good idea? or is university a complete waste of time and we already have enough information on anarchist history and im better off doing something else?

thanks!

Ethos's picture
Ethos
Jul 14 2013 00:42
vicent wrote:
hello all

i am currently studying environmental studies in my second year, but have become increasingly disillusioned with what they are teaching (green capitalism, population crisis blah blah blah) . i am now thinking of changing to a history course and hopefully study and bring to the light the more obscure parts of anarchist related history (makhno etc)

is this a good idea? or is university a complete waste of time and we already have enough information on anarchist history and im better off doing something else?

thanks!

If you were in the U.S. I would say that you should definitely study whatever you feel passionate about. As far as the second and third questions are concerned: university education is bullshit*. However, in our capitalist world, it's essential if you don't want to be breaking your back for the rest of your days (and even with a degree it's not guaranteed that you won't). I wish it wasn't the case, but the truth is that, unless we're bringing about revolution tomorrow, you're probably going to need a job to survive like the rest of us and you might as well make it something you marginally care about.

--------------------------
*This statement has it's exceptions, of course. Perhaps it would be better to say, "as far as the 'social sciences' and 'humanities' are concerned".

ites's picture
ites