Pay cuts in social care at Alternative Futures Group: updates and discussion

25 posts / 0 new
Last post
madashell's picture
madashell
Feb 27 2012 09:10
Pay cuts in social care at Alternative Futures Group: updates and discussion

admin: news and leaflets about this dispute on libcom.org here: http://libcom.org/tags/alternative-futures-group

I work as a support worker for a North West based care company, Alternative Futures Group, recently they've decided to cut our pay, which means a 3.9% cut for myself and most other support workers and a 6.5% cut for casual staff, the company is also going after support workers who have been transferred over on TUPE contracts from social services and PCTs, who are all currently on different terms and conditions to the rest of us, don't have exact figures for them.

A number of us are trying to organise to get people to collectively refuse to sign contracts, amongst other forms of action, this has largely taken place outside of the union branch. Unison have finally decided to ballot for a ballot for strike action (seriously, I didn't even know they did that), as well as putting out a petition, having completely ignored this dispute for the last couple of months of sham consultations.

By the by, if anybody in Rochdale, Burnley or Lancs is interested in helping us out, PM me, could do with some help distributing a leaflet.

I'll keep this thread updated as and when new developments occur, there's also a blog. The blog has been interesting, the company are aware of it and have become quite determined to find out who has been writing it and sack them for "gross misconduct", I think being publically criticised by one of their own employees rattled them quite a bit. It's safe to assume somebody from HR will be watching this thread, by the way (hello, Peter), since the reposts on libcom appear higher on google results than the original blog.

greeny
Feb 29 2012 21:49