The Learning Curve

84 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ghost Whistler
Dec 10 2015 21:47
The Learning Curve

I envisage this will be a work in progress as I hone my theory.

I'm no expert in anarchist theory. In fact, as I write, I'm not 100% convinced for anarchism, though I am avowedly anticapitalist.

I get the feeling that a lot of the theory struggles in the face of the reality of human nature and, as there's no way to put it to the test currently, is based on assumptions - reasonable or otherwise.

So I struggle, especially in conversation with others, to convince people that anarchism can trump human nature: how do we deal with the need for laws/regulations to prevent bad behaviour or antisocial behaviour on any level?

Also in the modern world, with its technology and global society, how big would an anarchist society be? Would Britain be a single Anarchist community, would it comprise a number of anarchist communities on the island landmass? How would they function in the context of a global society?

That's all for now.

Auld-bod's picture
Auld-bod
Dec 10 2015 22:34

What do you mean by human nature? Why would you want to trump it? Surely folk are happier without someone banging them on the head and telling them to conform?

Chilli Sauce's picture
Chilli Sauce
Dec 11 2015 05:28
Quote:
I struggle, especially in conversation with others, to convince people that anarchism can trump human nature:

Just on this, I'll link you to something I wrote on another thread:

http://libcom.org/forums/theory/how-respond-darwinist-capitalist-argumen...

But the gist of it is that, in the absence of a lived experience of solidarity, I don't think any amount of debate will beat the human nature argument. If you've experienced, say, hundreds or thousands of people taking a risk to support another person or another group or people, that's the kind of thing that I think will change people's mind.

factvalue
Dec 11 2015 09:12