Intercom: The Ultra-Left Review

Intercom: The Ultra-Left Review

Publication produced by members of a range of UK ultra-left/libertarian communist groups in the early 1980s, including Wildcat, Careless Talk, Workers Playtime, Black Star and Glasgow Anarchists.

Intercom was preceded by the New Ultra-Left Review.

Scans taken from Sparrows Nest and Splits & Fusions archives.

AttachmentSize
Intercom1.pdf9.29 MB
Intercom2.pdf12.94 MB
Intercom3.pdf14.66 MB
Intercom4_January_1984.pdf13.93 MB
intercom5_April_1984.pdf25.81 MB
Intercom6_September_1984.pdf9.2 MB

Posted By

R Totale
Dec 24 2018 21:57

Share

Attached files

Comments

R Totale
Dec 24 2018 22:08

Oops, having created this page I now realize that the one PDF of an issue of Intercom I've been able to find is 33.8 MB, so just over the limit to upload - although the last two pages of that PDF seem to actually be Wildcat #7, so if anyone's got good PDF editing software, they could break it up into two parts and upload them separately? Or just get rid of this page, one or the other.

Fozzie
Dec 24 2018 22:16

https://smallpdf.com is your friend, comrade.

Fozzie
Dec 24 2018 22:24

Also I think Wildcat 7 is part of the leaflets etc section so should stay. But the back page is missing? Maybe.

Also well done for finding this, I’d never seen it. smile

jondwhite
Dec 24 2018 22:55

Send a link to me and i will see what i can do

Serge Forward
Dec 24 2018 23:44

Thanks for adding this. By the way, the articles by Louis Robertson in that were by the late Bob Miller (Knightrose here on libcom). Bob, myself and others compiled that issue and churned it out on a gestestner in our front room smile

On the issue of the last bit being Wildcat, yes, the last few pages were always leaflets by the groups involved - Wildcat (Manchester), Careless Talk ((North Staffs), Subversive Graffiti (Aberdeen) and, I seem to recall, elements from London Workers Group who did Workers Playtime.

R Totale
Dec 25 2018 10:58

Well, it's uploaded now, merry xmas everyone! Shame about missing the back page tho. Also I now realise the "Wildcat No 7" that makes up the last two pages of this seems to be a completely different publication from the "Wildcat No 7 - Riot Special" that's also in the Sparrow's Nest archive, so I have no clue what's going on there.

Spikymike
Dec 12 2020 13:54

To clarify a couple of points;
The 2 page short free Wildcat bulletins included in the Intercom publication were produced by a temporary collective made up of dissident members of the autonomous Manchester Solidarity Group and similar dissident members of the Manchester local ICC (World Revolution) group plus a couple of local anarchist communists. This was a forerunner of the subsequent Wildcat (UK) paper phase one.
My hard copies of Intercom and related material is mostly out on loan just now. (edit: Haven't managed to retrieve these as yet but note that 'Intercom' continued to at least issue no 5, in April 1984, together with a series of small conferences and supportive groups from Manchester, Stoke, London, Glasgow and Milton Keynes as well as correspondence from others in the UK and internationally. By number 5 however it was clear that the Wildcat groups interest in pursuing Intercom as a project towards national regroupment was not supported by most.)
Edit: There are still at present more copies of the Intercom journal and earlier versions of the Manchester based 'Wildcat' paper available online (together with other related left-communist and libertarian communist journals) here:
https://splitsandfusions.wordpress.com/left-communists-and-libertarians/

Fozzie
Dec 26 2018 12:45

Oh blimey, yet another phase of Wildcat I wasn't aware of grin

Am I a terrible nerd for wanting to see the back page of this so I can pointlessly test myself against the "ten points for participation in Intercom"?

Fozzie
Dec 18 2020 14:33

Sparrows Nest just uploaded a scan of #5 today so I have compressed that and added it here. I assume this is now a complete archive?

Fozzie
Jan 31 2021 10:24

https://splitsandfusions.wordpress.com/2021/01/30/more-notes-from-the-sw...

Short post on Careless Talk and Subversive Graffiti which may be of interest. Also and Intercom supplement that can be grabbed for here.

Spikymike
Jan 31 2021 15:50

I'm sure they wouldn't agree, but I cant help thinking that the 'Lets Get Rooted' networking proposal from the Angry Workers group seems to resemble, (if not the much earlier UK Solidarity network) then, to some extent, the initial intention (if not success) behind the 'New Ultra Left' Review and Intercom, in so far as most of the contributing groups at that time were fairly 'rooted' in their local working class struggles whilst maintaining important international connections. Maybe this latest initiative in a different period will learn some lessons and fair better than Intercom?