How old is Capitalism?

Submitted by Sleeper on December 11, 2015

Obviously the answer is not very old at all when you look at us humans.

However I'm thinking 1600 and something. How about you?

Khawaga

8 years 4 months ago

In reply to by libcom.org

Submitted by Khawaga on December 11, 2015

Yeah, I'd say it really started to accelerate mid-17th century.

Sleeper

8 years 4 months ago

Submitted by Sleeper on December 12, 2015

Ok so we are anchoring capitalism, or at least the growth of capitalism, somewhere in the 1600's / C17. Anyone disagree or can be more precise?

bastarx

8 years 4 months ago

Submitted by bastarx on December 12, 2015

I'm far from an expert but some historians believe capitalism got off to an abortive start in 14th century Italy. The revolt of the Ciompi in Florence from 1378 to 1382 is sometimes said to have resulted in capitalism not taking off properly in Italy then.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ciompi_Revolt

ajjohnstone

8 years 4 months ago

Submitted by ajjohnstone on December 12, 2015

Much earlier if we see this variant as an expression of capitalism

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merchant_capitalism

So what we call Industrial capitalism can be described as a different development developing later.

We might talk of the capitalist revolutions as their beginnings ...English Civil War...French Revolution...Russian Revolution...

James MacBryde

8 years 3 months ago

Submitted by James MacBryde on December 27, 2015

12,000 years ago

James MacBryde

8 years 3 months ago

Khawaga writes:

...I'd say it really started to accelerate mid-17th century.

This does not answer the question.

Khawaga

8 years 3 months ago

Submitted by Khawaga on December 27, 2015

Because there is no answer to the question. It's not like capitalism was a clear break from feudalism. It developed slowly and then accelerated. The preconditions for capitalism existed for a long time prior to the commodity becoming the dominant economic unit.